The W. Ross Winterowd Award

Each year at the meeting of the Association of Teachers of Advanced Composition at the CCCC Convention, JAC presents The W. Ross Winterowd Award for the most outstanding book on composition theory published that year. The award was generously endowed by Professor Winterowd.

2013 Recipient

Carmen Kynard, Vernacular Insurrections: Race, Black Protest, and the New Century in Composition-Literacies Studies (State University of New York Press).

2012 Recipient
Rebecca Dingo, Networking Arguments: RHetoric, Transnational Feminism, and Public Policy Writing
(University of Pittsburgh Press).

2011 Recipients
Sidney I. Dobrin, Postcomposition (Southern Illinois University Press)

Donna Strickland, The Managerial Unconscious in the History of Composition Studies
(Southern Illinois University Press)

2010 Recipient
Diane Davis, Inessential Solidarity: Rhetoric and Foreigner Relations (University of Pittsburgh Press).

2009 Recipient

Kristie S. Fleckenstein, Vision, Rhetoric, and Social Action in the Composition Classroom (Southern Illinois University Press).

2008 Recipient

John Muckelbauer, The Future of Invention: Rhetoric, Postmodernism, and the Problem of Change (State University of New York Press).

2007 Recipient

Byron Hawk, A Counter-History of Composition: Toward Methodologies of Complexity (University of Pittsburgh Press).

Honorable Mention: Alexander Reid, The Two Virtuals: New Media and Composition (Parlor Press).

2006 Recipient

Kevin Porter, Meaning, Language, and Time: Toward a Consequentialist
Philosophy of Discourse
(Parlor Press).

2005 Recipient

Julie Jung, Revisionary Rhetoric, Feminist Pedagogy, and Multigenre Texts (Southern Illinois University Press).

2004 Recipient

Morris Young, Minor Re/Visions: Asian American Literacy Narratives as a Rhetoric of Citizenship (Southern Illinois University Press).

2003 Recipient

Catherine Prendergast, Literacy and Racial Justice: The Politics of Learning after
Brown v. Board of Education
(Southern Illinois University Press).

2002 Recipients

Geoffrey Sirc, English Composition as a Happening (Utah State University Press).

Marshall Alcorn, Changing the Subject in English Class: Discourse and the Constructions of Desire (Southern Illinois University Press).

2001 Recipient

Susan Wells, Out of the Dead House: Nineteenth-Century Women Physicians and the Writing of Medicine (University of Wisconsin Press).

2000 Recipients

Bruce Horner, Terms of Work for Composition: A Materialist Critique (State University of New York Press).

Stephen Gilbert Brown, Words in the Wilderness: Critical Literacy in the Borderlands (State University of New York Press).

1999 Recipient

Wendy S. Hesford, Framing Identities: Autobiography and the Politics of Pedagogy (University of Minnesota Press).

1998 Recipients

Arabella Lyon, Intentions: Negotiated, Contested, and Ignored (Pennsylvania State University Press).

Honorable Mention: Hepzibah Roskelly and Kate Ronald, Reason to Believe: Romanticism, Pragmatism, and the Teaching of Writing (State University of New York Press).

1997 Recipient

Deborah Mutnick, Writing in an Alien World: Basic Writing and the Struggle for Equality in Higher Education (Boynton/Cook).

1996 Recipients

James A. Berlin, Rhetorics, Poetics, and Cultures: Refiguring College English Studies (NCTE).

Honorable Mention: John Schilb, Between the Lines: Relating Composition Theory and Literary Theory (Boynton/Cook).

1995 Recipient

Xin Liu Gale, Teachers, Discourses, and Authority in the Postmodern Composition Classroom (State University of New York Press).

1994 Recipient

Jasper Neel, Aristotle’s Voice: Rhetoric, Theory, and Writing in America (Southern Illinois University Press).

1993 Recipients

Kurt Spellmeyer, Common Ground: Dialogue, Understanding, and the Teaching of Composition (Prentice Hall).

Honorable Mention: C.H. Knoblauch and Lil Brannon, Critical Teaching and the Idea of Literacy (Boynton/Cook).

Honorable Mention: Valerie M. Balester, Cultural Divide: A Study of African-American
College-Level Writers

1992 Recipient

Lester Faigley, Fragments of Rationality: Postmodernity and the Subject of Composition (University of Pittsburgh Press).

1991 Recipients

Susan Miller, Textual Carnivals: The Politics of Composition (Southern Illinois University Press).

Honorable Mention: C. Jan Swearingen, Rhetoric and Irony: Western Literacy and Western Lies (Oxford University Press).

1990 Recipients

Sharon Crowley, The Methodical Memory: Invention in Current-Traditional Rhetoric
(Southern Illinois University Press).

Honorable Mention: Deborah Brandt, Literacy as Involvement: The Acts of Writers, Readers, and Texts (Southern Illinois University Press).

1989 Recipients

Susan Miller, Rescuing the Subject: A Critical Introduction to Rhetoric and the Writer
(Southern Illinois University Press).

Honorable Mention: Charles Bazerman, Shaping Written Knowledge: The Genre and Activity of the Experimental Article in Science, (University of Wisconsin Press).