The Gary A. Olson Award

Each year at the meeting of the Association of Teachers of Advanced Composition at the CCCC Convention, JAC presents The Gary A. Olson Award for the most outstanding book on rhetorical and cultural theory that year.

2013 Recipient

Thomas Rickert, Ambient Rhetoric: The Attunements of Rhetorical Being (University of Pittsburgh Press)

2012 Recipient
Jenny Rice, Distant Publics: Development Rhetoric and the Subject of Crisis (University of Pittsburgh Press)

2011 Recipient
Bernard Alan Miller, Rhetoric's Earthly Realm: Heidegger, Sophistry, and the Gorgian Kairos (Parlor Press)

2010 Recipient

Susan Searls Giroux, Between Race and Reason: Violence, Intellectual Responsibility, and the University to Come (Stanford University Press).

2009 Recipient

Deborah P. Britzman,  The Very Thought of Education: Psychoanalysis and the Impossible Professions (State University of New York Press).

2008 Recipient

David J. Tietge, Rational Rhetoric: The Role of Science in Popular Discourse
(Parlor Press).

2007 Recipient

Thomas Rickert, Acts of Enjoyment: Rhetoric, Zizek, and the Return of thr Subject
(University of Pittsburgh Press).

2006 Recipient

Sharon Crowley, Toward a Civil Discourse: Rhetoric and Fundamentalism (University of Pittsburgh Press).

2005 Recipient

Krista Ratcliffe, Rhetorical Listening: Identification, Gender, Whiteness (Southern Illinois University Press).

2004 Recipients

Vincent Mosco, The Digital Sublime: Myth, Power, and Cyberspace (Massachusetts Institute of Technology Press).

Todd McGowan, The End of Dissatisfaction? Jacques Lacan and the Emerging Society of Enjoyment (State University of New York Press).

2003 Recipient

Edward Schiappa, Defining Reality: Definitions and the Politics of Meaning (Southern Illinois University Press).

2002 Recipient

A. Suresh Canagarajah, A Geopolitics of Academic Writing (University of Pittsburgh Press)